Monday, January 26, 2009

Stuff I love

This was the first weekend that I was without a football game to watch. Usually, my Sundays (and many Saturdays in the fall...) revolve around watching my favorite team with my favorite people. However, with the Eagles out and the SuperBowl next Sunday, I had an entire day to devote to doing nothing. I decided my old "Sunday Fundays" would have replace with self-created fun. This is however, not hard, because...well, I rule, and I have no problem making my own fun.


Maxim is a fabulous combination of mediocre journalism and college-y humor, addressing the "real" concerns of regular guys. Its $2.5 Billion annual sales comes from cornering the male market perfectly; guys don't like to read unless absolutely necessary. They want/need to know a little bit about a lot of things; and Maxim delivers this information in a witty and focused style...and with some pics of hot chicks. I love this magazine. When I want to know about fashion I read vogue. When I want to know how to please my man or make a bitchin cocktail, I read cosmo. When I want to learn about beer, or the best town for snowboarding, or the origin of mardi gras, I read maxim. Plus, the "outfits" (if you can call them that) they put the women in give me ideas for my own escapades, but mostly, inspiration for hot hair and make-up. I read every issue cover to cover and feel it gives me a better understanding of the male psyche. Plus, I have a serious one-up when it comes to striking up conversation with the opposite sex. Some people read the sunday paper; this Sunday, I read the February Maxim.

I spent a few hours last night watching one of my favorite shows; Always Sunny in Philadelphia. Its on FX thursday nights at 10, but I tend to like to watch it on Dvd in one sitting. After Flight of the Conchords, I watched a few episodes, including my favorite one involving "Green Man". This show is so goddamn funny. Its very weird, but in a good way. I wonder if people not from around Philly find it as entertaining...


Really, who doesn't love the Dollar Store? Its the only place I can go shopping and feel rich. It has everything! I went on Saturday after I got back from NYC. Toothpaste, soap, candles, qtips, collapse-able hamper, lip gloss, frozen veggies. The list doesn't end! You get to the register with a basket full of goodies and your total is like $17.00. God, I love America.

Best snack food ever? Wasabi peas are so delicious. Spicy, crunchy, and filling! They were my sustinence on the drive up and back from NYC. Did I mention travel friendly?



Black nail polish is so badass. Classy, edgy, and cool all at the same time. Its one thing I can wear to the office that isn't uber-wasp-y. Slight obsession.

Friday, January 23, 2009

Busy, Busy

So...trip to NYC tonight to see my friends' band play. I'm super stoked and it means I get out of work a little early. I've been pondering what I'm going to wear out in the city....

I love this outfit. Worn by the one and only Rumi many moons ago. Perfect for winter in the City.
Probbaly going to channel Sienna and do hair and make up like this.....


Happy me in NYC last fall (early fall). I live for NYC brunch...yummmmmmm!

Thursday, January 22, 2009

Ultimate Work Ensemble

So Hot Right Now
So Hot Right Now - by Legallyb1onde on Polyvore.com

Bad, Bad Girl

So I've been a bad blogger this week! Last weekend really did me in. A trip to Baltimore where my cousins did a great job of showing me a good time, i.e. holy hangover; a lacrosse convention (yours truly is a youth league coach) which meant lots of free schwag; a terrible loss by the Birds (goddammit Eagles!); which meant a very unhappy president's day. Tuesday, I was consumed by Obama's Inauguration/parade/Delaware's finest Joe Biden. Yesterday was just super busy: hot date (again!!!), work, etc. So here we are 6 days later. I will post something worthwhile tomorrow I swear! Today, its cold, but super sunny and I was amazed how badly most of my summer shades looked with sweaters and coats, etc. That is, except for Wayfarers. My favorite pair below.


The Olsens can do not wrong. They tend to set the sunnies trends. I love the blue reflective ones here though......
I can't remember where I found this, but I saved it and thought/still think it is hilarious. It should totally be a bumper sticker on facebook as far as I'm concerned.



I promise the next post will be better!
Just discovered Polyvore.com and have been wasting hours designing outfits. Love love love!

Sunday Funday
Sunday Funday - by Legallyb1onde on Polyvore.com

Tuesday, January 20, 2009

Afternoon Delight

Today is suuuch a nice day. Beginning of February and a balmy 50 degrees. Such a bummer to find out its supposed to get cold again and snow tonight into tomorrow. I know I won't be getting a snow day unless a state of emergency is called, I can only hope the forecasters are wrong. It did get me thinking about day-off style though. I love to bust out of my ugly work clothing rut and look extra fun on the weekends, even if it only involves running errands and meeting up with friends. Since I just did a post on Friday night attire, today I'll dedicate a post to "morning after" attire.

Mk's outfit is uber functional, especially if one takes into account "morning after" hair. I hate waking up on a beautiful Saturday of Sunday morning to your hair reeking of bar. It never looks quite good no matter how much you fool with it, but usually a shower seems like too much work. Thus, cute hats are sooo clutch. Dark circles from a late night? Stunna shades are the answer! Hot shoes and skinny jeans keep this cozy look from being slummy.

I probably end up looking like this on Saturdays and Sundays more times than not. I love the wide cotton headband. Covers up roots of greasy hair and doesn't hurt your head after too long like some headbands do. Shades, bright scarf, and a large coffee are morning after lifesavers. The colorful scarf will add some warmth to a dull (dehydrated) complexion, and the coffee helps get you going. A comfy, oversize sweater camouflages beer bloat and form fitting jeans balance the look. Now if only I had those boots....


Meeting up with the crush/boyfriend/mancandy/friend with hot brother in tow? You want to look clean and polished even if you feel like bar floor scum. Blow dry hair upside down to get some extra lift. Natural make-up and curled lashes will keep you looking fresher. Brightly colored pants will focus the attention of others away from your pounding head and swollen face and onto your hot legs. Still might need to double fist the coffee though.

Too much work? On the off chance that you feel too dead/tired/hungover to function, use this 3 step plan: 1) As much as you don't want to, take off the sweat pants and get dressed. Putting on real clothes will make you feel better. 2) Heels might be too much. In which case, some nice riding boots are a step up from sneakers or uggs and are still super comfortable. 3) Disguise a bloated belly with an over size sweater that's soft and still has some structure to it. 4) If you can't motivate your self to groom, at the very least throw your dirty hair into a chic bun and put on some eye make-up/mascara to make yourself look less dead in the eyes. On that note, a few eye drops never hurt to counteract the redness. 5) Smile; you'll fool more people than you think.
This is the perfect "I'm responsible/functional no matter how early you expect me to be there after a late night" outfit. Brunch with parents, meeting mancandy's friends/relatives for the first time, appointments or meetings with people in various walks of life (i.e. older or young children), or even the few that attempt the impossible...church. Many a time have we had to mask the hangover/sleep deprivation when we actually had something to do...early. I refuse to let morning obligations infringe on my weekend night fun, so smoke and mirrors work wonders. Clean hair, natural makeup, and a crisp, pressed shirt work wonders. Not to mention, a forgiving fitting pair of dark denim jeans and a few inches never hurts either.

Friday, January 16, 2009

Winter-y Inspiration

So it is officially Winter and miserably cold out. YUCK. I can deal with with low temps and seasonal weather, but 5 degrees?!?!? My car barely starts! So today I decided to become inspired by the cozy, yet fashionable. MK looks amazing and that sweater makes me warm just looking at it.
YES, I have a flannel problem! But I Love this...the vest and boots and leggings? Perf.

A puffer jacket is probably necessary with Nicole's look, but definately a week-night bar friendly outfit.

This is adorable and looks super warm...I refuse to give up on Uggs just yet.
We know how I feel about flannel. LC, I know it was like 80 degrees when you wore this in LA. Stop taunting me! but it is very winter friendly.... and those boots....mmmmm.

Leg exposure could be dangerous, but totally necessary when my shoes come! This is the lovely Geri from Because I'm Addicted a looong time ago, but she is one of the few to pull off the flannel and skirt. Yum.

What I would Wear to Work....

Thursday, January 15, 2009

Damage to my Bank Account

So I decided to cash-in on xmas gift cards and pick up my spirits this week...
Obviously I was feeling the plaid....but this dress? So hot right now.

I absolutely cannot wait to wear these!!!


I know its post new years, but this dress/top/tunic is uber cool....especially with some ankle booties?

I die. I'm a sucker for plaid. Got this bad boy in teal and white.

Wednesday, January 14, 2009

Work Week...bummer

As promised, I uploaded some of the recent outfits from my day to day. Don't worry, the price tags will blow your mind. Shoes above (outfit below does not do them justice) are probably the greatest thing I have ever purchased from Payless. These beauties were a bogo (buy one, get one for those unfamiliar) and cost $17.99...or free depending on how you look at it. (sigh...love them)
Sorry for the angry face. This was today. It was so incredibly cold and I was about to leave to run errands for my boss. Pants-Express via Goodwill $4.99, Jacket- xmas present 3 years ago but Moda (victorias secret brand) so technically free, Sweater (not seen) American Eagle found at Value City (very ghetto store in the Northeast) for $7.99, Shoes (not seen)- Boots found at the Salvation Army-$7.99 but then 1/2 price because it was green tag day! Total=$16.97
This face was not meant to be angry either. I'm still trying to adjust to the self timer! Leopard Skirt- (from when I was 14! I honestly don't remember how much I paid for it, but I know I got it at Marshalls.) It's Express circa 2001. Top- thrifted Gap $3.00. Leggings (not seen but plain black)- $2.99 drugstore, Shoes- (not seen) Ann Taylor flats $5.00. Total (minus the 8 year old skirt)=$10.99
Casual Friday, feeling a little Taylor Swift/Carrie Underwood-esque...on a good day. I hate country with a passion, so I refuse to admit that this is at all influenced by CMT. Boots are the bad boys from the first pic. Sweater Dress- $9.99 Mandee brand?, Bolero/sweater thing-Free from my lovely friend. Boots-$17.99. Total=$27.98.
This outfit would have been way more adorable if I had posed with my red bag and shoes...channeling a little Audrey/Grace. Cable-knit Sweater- thrifted South pole! (brand in the same neighborhood as echo/applebottoms...ick!) $3.00. Pants- thrifted Limited $3.00. Fake Tory Burch knock-off red flats (not pictured) $5.00. Chinatown Chanel pearls $10.00. Total=$21.00.

Again I apologize for looking to miserable/hateful in the shots! It's just because my job can be such a bummer.....

Hot Date Night

I'm well aware that Wednesday night would not strike most people as the hoppin' night on the town, but I'm extremely excited for a date I have tonight with a new prospect...and it doesn't hurt that one of the local watering holes has 1/2 priced bottles tonight. wink. Annnyhoo, I'm desperately trying to figure out what to wear. My work outfit actually repulses me today (it was super cold.....that's my excuse and I'm sticking to it!), so I really want to redeem myself in the style department tonight. Note: I will post work outfit pics later today...unfortunately, I didn't learn my lesson from new years....weekend antics + photography= unusable pictures. grrrrr. other Note: I wish tutus were acceptable date attire, and for that matter, year round attire. I suppose they could be, but in the middle of January I won't want to scare off potential suitors with outfit like above....
I also wish I could pull off the no-pants as acceptable date attire. Kate Bosworth looks so hot right now in pic above. Very Edie Segwick/Sienna Miller with the glorified leotard,

If it were warmer and not negative 30, I would loooove to wear a dress like this........

In all honestly, this is probably what I will end up wearing. LC' s look is the ideal winter date ensemble; warm make-up, bright, perfectly tailored coat, romantic hair, and long black pants to camoflage/offset the holiday 5lbs one is now mid-resolution on losing. Nice. Well I'm off to heat up the curling iron!

Tuesday, January 13, 2009

Such a Brat

Yes, it has only been two weeks since xmas, but there's already a list of things I want/need/have to have and my $50.00 in Forever21 gift cards just are going to cut it. 1) Picture above...everything! ok, mostly the ripped leggings (which I can make but I'm being lazy), and the nerd glasses...but I wouldn't mind the boots either....
2) Blazer and sparkly top/dress. I know Forever has a dress/top like that....hmmmm.

3) Romper, but not in hot orange. I'd like a black silk one...preferably Olsen-esque. My last encounter with a romper a forever ended in a return the next day. My friends assured me that in all senses of the word, the romper I purchased was just "Not Hot."
I really really like Katy Perry's one here. I never feel like I can pull off the super 80's looks though...especially the plastic jewlery and side pon.

4) Last but not least, I want a "hipster headband". Girl in picture above totally does it right. I don't know if I have the necessary oosing of coolness to pull it off. To the Forever21 website I go!

Monday, January 12, 2009

One Shoulder

This is one of those "trends" that I was sure 8-10 years ago was going to be transient. I thought it only worked for certain body types and would be out with midriff bearing tops. Some love it, some hate it. Because I have no waist to speak of and the lower body of a Russian trained gymnast, I have always like the one shoulder look in dresses because it could create the illusion of an hourglass figure without the obvious belts/high waist/etc. What has surprised me is the recent surge I've been noticing on the red carpet. Above is Samantha Harris in the "traditional" asymmetrical, knee-length dress.


This is a gorgeous variation. A little looser, and brighter; Kate Hudson looks amazing. Plus I love the shoes.
The new Valentino ads offer another take; shorter, bunched, detailed, and uber sexy.

Frieda Pinto's dress is the hybrid of Samantha Harris and Kate; colorful but shorter, loose but still formfitting, and goes with her skin perfectly. I really like this look and would totally wear something like it.

Lc. God bless her style. AA leggings, and trademark braid/shiny curls. I'm not sure if most people could pull off this look, but she does, and makes it look gooood. I always have to be careful when something isn't formfitting in order to avoid the "do I look preggers" conundrum. She, however, looks youthful and thin.

Besties

As the unofficial winter break comes to a close, my posse begins to dissipate as each travels back to their irrespective schools, homes, jobs, etc. causing me to get super nostalgic. One friend finally graduated college this past weekend and of course we a had a huge blowout in her honor Saturday where much debauchery ensued. We began discussing our lives in and since high school, dove through old photos, and swapped stories. Such discussion gave me the fodder to dedicate a post.
This was taken the weekend after this past x-mas when we convinced the girl on the far right to throw a party of "high school proportions". Clearly, so much has changed since we were 18. We are all very responsible drinkers and oh so mature these days. Yours truly is face down on the far left.
Classier version of the same picture but 3 years earlier, less ridiculous, and does a pretty good job of cataloging our favorite pastime...can you guess?(hint: look at the tables).

My favorite photo. This was taken prior to a Lacrosse game in which our respective boyfriends and/or guy friends were playing for the State Title. So, we collectively decided to make t-shirts with catchy phrases of support/cheers/etc, i.e. "Common Rob, make 'em sob" and other limericks that would make our guys blush and our English teachers proud. We also decided that even though the weather forecast called for torrential downpours and thunderstorms, we would somehow be immune. Let me give you an equation; white t-shirt + non-permanent marker + water= a scandalous, inky mess before the game was called at half time. Thanks for the memories......